Vet Nurse


Growing up in the UK, we had chickens, ducks, a goose, rabbits, chipmunks, 4 dogs, 2 cats and my brother had a horse.

 I always dreamed of having a job involving animals. At 19, I decided to apply for Agricultural College and started my Diploma in Small Animal Care. I was surprised to find out I was 11 weeks pregnant during my first year of College. Damon arrived in October 1995 meaning I had to take a year of from my studies. I finished my course when he was a year old and devoted my life to being a mum for 20 odd years. My other son was born in 2001.

 Still craving a career in Vet Nursing, I applied for university in the UK and Tafe in Perth, WA. I was accepted in 2018 in Perth to start my studies for my Cert IV. The best year of my life,  aged 44.

 I loved Oz so much I decided stay. My Boys now grown wished me well and encouraged me to stay in Australia. I’ve lived and worked in WA, Geraldton, Carnarvon, Darwin, Kakadu, Roma and Townsville.

 After a year back in the UK in 2022 I am now home in Townsville for my dream career, and I’ve landed on my feet at My Pet Hub. 

I am an NQ Wildlife carer particularly concentrating on native birds so far, I don’t have any pets here yet. I have dogs back in the UK with my family (Spaniels) and a Griffin x Schnauzer in Perth named Sprout!

 I love my life here and can’t wait for new adventures and to care for the animals of Townsville. I am a Social Butterfly often organising lots of outside work activities and down time. I also own a Kombi which keeps me busy restoring and camping.

See All Members